Sign up to our newsletter and stay up to date
with everything BeaconsfieldTown FC

Sign up to our newsletter

To find out about how we process your data, please read our privacy policy.





In front of a crowd of over 200 on a sunny Sunday afternoon, Beaconsfield and Marlow provided an entertaining FA Cup Preliminary Round tie at Holloways Park.

The Blues were on the attack from the first whistle and took the lead on 10 minutes - a shot by Isaac Osei-Tutu was parried by Rams keeper Jake Soutter and the loose ball was calmly set up for Chris Ovenden to slam into the back of The Rams net.

Beaconsfield were struggling to get into the game and but for a near miss by Osei-Tutu on 25 minutes and a smart double save by Soutter three minutes later they could have been out of the game on the half hour. However, Marlow's failure to convert when on top meant Beaconsfield were still in it and on 43 minutes a great cross by Charlie Losasso found the head of Spencer Maw who nodded it past Simon Grant in the Marlow goal. Sixty seconds later The Rams were nearly in front but Ollie McCoy's shot went agonizingly wide of The Blues post.

The second period was only nine minutes old when Marlow were awarded a penalty by (excellent) ref Michael Smith. Up stepped ex-Ram Marcus Mealing but he blazed the spot kick well over the bar and into the field of brambles and stingers (where it probably still is!)

Beaconsfield's passing game was now having more effect than in the first half and they were looking the better of the two sides. On 71 minutes Losasso was fouled outside the Marlow area but he picked himself up to place the free kick past Grant albeit with the help of an awkward bounce in front of the keeper.

Recent games (i.e Aylesbury United and Chalfont St Peter) have seen Beaconsfield concede goals right at the death and this failure to see out games continued as in the 89th minute, after Soutter had pushed an effort onto bar, Anaclet Odhiambo reacted quickest to pounce on the loose ball and prod it home.

With an away tie at Wantage Town awaiting the winners - not to mention a much needed cheque - the replay on Tuesday should be an entertaining affair.

Come On You Rams!

Beaconsfield team:

1. Jake Soutter
2. Marco Ushiro-Lumb (Sub: Callum Mapley, 19)
3. Matthew Peake-Pijnen
4. Callum Ferguson (Sub: Josh Dillon, 67)
5. Josh Gibbens
6. Guri Demuria
7. Aaron Minhas (Captain)
8. Ryan Hill
9. Charlie Losasso
10. Spencer Maw
11. Ollie McCoy (sub: Ryan Haugh, 88)

Sub Not Used:

15. Nathan Minhas

Attendance: 204


Updated 12:00 - 22 Aug 2016 by Daryl Smith

There are no tags on this post.

Follow Beaconsfield Town FC