Sign up to our newsletter and stay up to date
with everything BeaconsfieldTown FC

Sign up to our newsletter

To find out about how we process your data, please read our privacy policy.




It was newly promoted Marlow who started the brighter of the two teams in this local derby and as early as the fourth minute they had a near miss - this helped shake The Rams into action. The first of numerous runs and crosses by Victor Osobu took place on seven minutes whilst some good link up play between Zak Joseph and Anthony Thomas on ten minutes should have brought more than a near miss.

Ososbu set up Bilal Butt in the 12th minute though his shot was well saved but despite all this SYCOB pressure it was Marlow who took the lead in the fifteenth minute when a great ball by Ben Gladwin split The Rams defence and was pounced on by Ray Spence and he made no mistake in beating Derek Lewis in the SYCOB goal.

Another Osobu run saw a Bilal shot again saved whilst Victor himself hit the post in the 27th minute. Two minutes later and Zak Joseph went on a winding run and then curled a stunning effort past Simon Grant in the Marlow goal to chalk up his fourth strike of the season.

The remainder of the first 45 saw quite a few half chances for SYCOB with Osobu at the heart of pretty much everything and Bilal Butt putting one just over the bar on the stroke of half time.

The first twenty minutes of the second half saw numerous SYCOB chances come and go unfinished. Osobu, substitute Aaron Lansiquot, midfield dynamo Natahn Poulton - all had decent chances to put The Rams out of sight as Marlow seemed content to soak up the pressure and maybe nick one on the break (and probably through their best player, Gladwin). With so many chances created, mainly by Man Of The Match Osobu, it's a wonder SYCOB didn't score a hatful. Keep creating like this and we really will give someone a hiding!

It is a sign of just how far Beaconsfield SYCOB have come in the four weeks that Gary Meakin has been in charge that a 1-1 draw with local rivals Marlow is seen as two points dropped rather than one gained. The fact that we have a team at all - and a winning one at that - should be cause for celebration in itself.

Next up at Holloways Park, on Saturday 14th September with a three O'clock kick off, is a tasty home tie against Burnham in a FA Cup First Round Qualifying match.


1. Derek Lewis
2. Sam Grayley
3. Craig Carby
4. Yiadom Yeboah (Captain)
5. Jordan Ajanlekoko
6. Nathan Webb
7. Bilal Butt
8. Nathan Poulton
9. Zak Joseph (Substitute: Aaron Lansiquot)
10. Anthony Thomas (Substitute: Tom Inch)
11. Victor Osobu

12. Stefan Tomasevic
15. Ollie Beazley

SYCOB Man Of The Match: Victor Osobu

There are no tags on this post.

Follow Beaconsfield Town FC