Sign up to our newsletter and stay up to date
with everything BeaconsfieldTown FC

Sign up to our newsletter

To find out about how we process your data, please read our privacy policy.





Beaconsfield made club history by reaching the Third Qualifying Round of the Emirates FA Cup for the first time with a hard fought but well deserved victory over their visitors from Essex.

They nearly took the lead as early as the fourth minute when a Charlie Losasso free kick was met by the head of Guri Demuria but Witham stopper Lewis Snelgrove tipped the ball over the bar. Witham's Nathan Koranteng then forced a save out of Rams (back from injury) No.1 Sam Bunting as both sides traded early exchanges.

The Rams took the lead on 21 minutes when Ollie McCoy seized on a sliced clearance to put in a great cross that Nathan Minhas met with a powerful header past Snelgrove. McCoy then got on the score sheet himself on 37 minutes when he robbed a sleeping defender and calmly went onto nutmeg Snelgrove.

Witham grabbed themselves a lifeline just before half time when a free kick was sent into the Beaconsfield box and met by Lewis Payne who beat The Rams slow to react defence to head past Bunting. Half time, 2-1 to Beaconsfield.

The second period again saw both teams trading chances and periods of possession, Witham always looking dangerous on the counter attack. A double substitution on 70 minutes, however, saw Harry Mepham and Ollie Jones introduced and it was Jones who made the game save when he stayed on his feet to dribble past three defenders, round the keeper and then calmly slot home before being swamped by an avalanche of jubilant team mates!

Nathan Minhas nearly scored a fourth for Beaconsfield on 75 minutes but was thwarted by a good Snelgrove stop whilst at the other end the impressive Guri Demuria marshalled his defence to ensure no Witham comeback was possible.

It Beaconsfield can take some of this cup form into the League games then they should start to climb the table so Come On You Rams!

Beaconsfield Team:

1. Sam Bunting
2. Marcos Ushiro-Lumb
3. Ryan Haugh
4. Aaron Minhas (Captain)
5. Josh Gibbens
6. Guri Demuria
7. Ryan Hill (Sub: Harry Mepham, 70)
8. Charlie Losasso
9. Nathan Minhas
10. Spencer Maw (Sub: Ollie Jones, 70)
11. Ollie McCoy

Subs Not Used:

14. Callum Mapley
16. Josh Dillon
17. Matthew Peake-Pijen

Attendance: 84

Updated 11:13 - 18 Sep 2016 by Daryl Smith

There are no tags on this post.

Follow Beaconsfield Town FC