Sign up to our newsletter and stay up to date
with everything BeaconsfieldTown FC

Sign up to our newsletter

To find out about how we process your data, please read our privacy policy.




The Rams lost at home for the second time in a week as lowly Chertsey Town, helped by a great performance by ex Beaconsfield keeper Rhys Marshall, outfought SYCOB to earn three valuable points in their attempt to escape relegation.

Beaconsfield started brightly enough with both the industrious Tom O'Regan and the tricky Zak Joseph hitting different posts in the first five minutes. Chertsey also hit the bar and forced a good save out of James Reading in the opening minutes and, marshalled by player manager David Johnston, they competed for every ball, set up more to avoid defeat than to win the game.

As usual The Rams created plenty of chances with Tom O'Regan and John Christian seeing decent efforts well saved by Marshall who ensured that The Curfews got to half time on level terms against their higher placed opponents.

The home supporters feeling that this was "going to be one of those days" was confirmed in the 72nd minute when a rare Chertsey foray into The Rams half saw the SYCOB defence fail to properly clear a corner and Danny Alderton stroked the ball home much to the delight of the noisy and fun Curfews faithful who brought home made "Here is the goal" signs to help their strikers try and find the net, something they hadn't been able to do for a few games!

The introduction of Aaron Morgan gave the SYCOB frontline a bit more zip and he shot narrowly wide on 78 minutes but that was as good as it got for The Rams.

This was just one of a batch of shock results in the Central Division on the day but one The Rams could well do without repeating if they are serious about getting into the Play Offs. It really is in their hands.

Come On You Rams!

SYCOB team:

1. James Reading
2. Danny McDonnell (Sub: Brian Haule)
3. Craig Carby
4. Brad Hewitt (Captain)
5. Reece Yorke
6. John Christian
7. Tom O'Regan
8. Nathan Webb
9. Zak Joseph
10. Jon-Jo Bates (Sub: Scott Shulton)
11. Kofi Lockhart-Adams (Sub: Aaron Morgan)

Substitutes Not Used:
12. Jordon Ajanlekoko
14. Ryan Phillips

Attendance: 51

There are no tags on this post.

Follow Beaconsfield Town FC